u/-groover-7 minutes ago. I recently upgraded from a Yamaha 411--which was a great intermediate instrument. 6 hours ago. Krummhorns S 442. Another attribute of oboe reeds is the squeaky, high pitched noise they make while they aren't shoved into the oboe. An oboe site created by Amy Hinson in Wilmington, North Carolina, for use as a resource for music educators in dealing with their oboe players. I play oboe and baritone/euphonium, and have been incredibly sharp on both recently. The reed holder allows the air to move around the reed to dry it out. Instead, make a reed that works well with good balance, but with less contrast between the three main areas. To increase our awareness of breathing, we must use kinesthesia—our movement sense. An oboe is a musical instrument of the woodwind family. Surprise for me, and don't let her delicate charming looks fool you: this Czech girl is a powerhouse on the oboe, and needs a reed up to the challenge! I'm new to euph (learning it for marching season), but I've always been a little sharp on oboe. Its all about the details and it really is all about LISTENING! The reed squeaks without warning. Oboe. Just apply judicious amounts of delay and reverb and you have yourself a Balkan Party! • GIGO is the operational principle with Tone. Home Music Musical instrument Wind instrument Woodwind instrument Oboe. Hi, It's the reed, and it's a long explanation. log in sign up. A moistened reed is firmly attached to the clarinet mouthpiece by a circular band called a ligature. If the sound is thin and pinched, the reed is too soft and a higher strength of reed is needed. Egyptian Reed S 446. 9. 1.5M ratings 277k ratings See, that’s what the app is perfect for. Bass Clarinet 433. The most common oboe plays in the treble or soprano range. The tone is too "dark" or heavy throughout all registers. I hope this will fix it's self come cooler temperatures, but does anyone have any solutions for now? The oboe (/ ˈ oʊ b oʊ / OH-boh) is a type of doub