I dye my hair every few months. This isn’t an exaggeration: I get compliments from random strangers on my hair color almost every time I leave the house. Home hair colour cannot and does not replace one of the most important aspects of a salon visit – that is the hairdresser. But I love my own dye jobs equally, and they cost a fraction of the price. Why do salons always say box dyes are terrible? When to Use a Box Dye . Registered User . And I use $10 box dye to do it. Thankfully, most box dyes have clear instructions for how to safely use them. I’ve had my hair colored in a salon before, and I did love the results. Personally, I have been using box dyes and going to hairdressers for several years. That’s right, I dye my hair! Posts: 552 Adverts | Friends. Well of course a hairdresser is going to say get it done in a hairdressers. The main reason for my box dye obsession is that I really hate the thought of paying someone a lot of money to do something I can do myself. It also includes, coal tar in product. First, stylists spend a lot of money getting certified to work with heavy duty chemicals that we put on our hair. According to Baghaei, covering a small amount of grays (read: less than 20 to 30 percent of your hair) or matching your current hair color is typically doable. Not to mention box dye has potential cancer causing effects. With all those risks in mind, you might be running for the hills—but hey, don’t totally write off the affordable hair color just yet. Think of water colors and a fresh clean glass of water you use to clean the brush. What comes as a huge surprise to most people is I’m not a natural redhead! 2) Taking dark hair to a lighter shade is another tricky one. So what if you have to pay $60 for hair color in salon. It’s better quality and it doesn’t have metallic salts in the dye which damage your hair. They have to take real courses in chemistry to learn how different compounds mix, their strength, etc. And, as with any at-home hair dye, you'