This question appears on the forums often, and one often replies with “You don’t date henna, you marry it”. Wrapped head in, "Decided to wait due to having only the black henna product without the additional indigo recommended for coloring, "Non-oxidizing hair dye – one without peroxide, very specific & helpful! Combine equal parts extra virgin olive oil, argan oil and coconut oil. But it can be done, and here are a few ways to try to remove henna from hair. By signing up you are agreeing to receive emails according to our privacy policy. To learn how to remove henna from your hair by using peroxide or hair dye, scroll down! I have been using henna for 15 years. They vanish after about 24-48 hours after application. If you want, then you can always bleach your hair and then henna over it. Henna is iron based and therefore gives that beautiful natural red shine in red hair. I've only applied henna once to my hair; do I still need to use the same methods and timing? Thanks to all authors for creating a page that has been read 359,129 times. Rub mineral oil into dry, clean hair until the scalp and hair are completely saturated. Henna is especially difficult to remove because it completely coats the hair. Repeat if necessary. You will most likely need to shampoo at least twice to avoid limp, oily hair. How do I remove hair dye from my hair quickly? If you are going to a darker color it will work great, if to a lighter color, then not so good. The semi-permanent dye will last up to three weeks with normal, everyday washing. Either way, you cannot remove these. Give yourself a week between oilings to give your hair a chance to recover a little and produce its own natural moisture. Sometimes called black henna, Indigo will color the hair brown to black tones and will make existing dark hair colors even darker. If you want to remove henna color completely then you need patience because henna color is natural and it takes time in removing. You will need to repeat this proces